This screen is used to create/edit/view the Practice. Note that you can only have one active Practice at a time.

The fields are as follows:
Practice Name - the name of the practice. This will appear on various reports and documents so it should be set as you want it to appear.
Active - uncheck this box to deactivate the practice
Currency - select the currency to be used - see Lookups|Currency
Patient Age Format - select the required format - see Lookups|Duration Formats. If you leave this set at None, default settings apply - see Lookups|Duration Formats.
Prescription Expiry - the default interval for how long prescriptions are valid - see Concepts|Prescriptions
Reminder Export Format - this determines the file format when exporting reminders on the Reporting|Reminders screen - it can be set to None, Comma or Tab separated values.
Auto Lock Screen - this determines how long a user's session may remain inactive before a dialog is displayed prompting the user to re-enter their password. A value of 0 disables this feature. Note that due to the way the client browser is refreshed, the dialog may be displayed up to 30 seconds after the specified period of inactivity.
In order to prevent auto-lock, you need to periodically do something that triggers synchronisation with the server. This resets the auto-lock timer. Things that trigger synchronisation include:
- pressing Enter in a field
- clicking a button (e.g. Apply)
The following will not trigger synchronisation:
- inputting text without pressing enter
- moving the mouse
- pressing tab
The reason for this is to limit the amount of network traffic between the browser and the server.
Auto Logout - this determines how long a user's session may remain inactive before the user is automatically logged out.
Show Problems in Visit - if selected, a Problems tab will be displayed in the Visit Editor. By default, it is unselected.
Ignore List Price Decreases - if selected, then if the Auto Price Update option is checked on the Product's Supplier tab and the calculated cost price is less than the existing cost price of the product, then no Auto Price Update will be done.
Log Communication - if selected, communication with a customer will be automatically logged. See Communication for more details.
Record Lock Period - the period of time after a patient medical record is created that it is locked from editing. Setting a value <= 0 disables locking. Changing this value will log an Audit message. Enabling it will schedule a job to periodically lock records. See Medical Record Locking for more details.
Minimum Quantities - used to reduce charging errors, by ensuring that a product has a minimum quantity.
When enabled, product template and estimate Low Quantities set a mininum quantity for a product. When expanding a template into an estimate or charge, the low quantity of the included product becomes the minimum quantity for an item. When invoicing an estimate, the estimate low quantities set the minimum quantities on the invoice.

  • For estimates, an item is invalid if its Low Qty is less than the minimum quantity
  • For charges, an item is invalid if its Quantity is less than the minimum quantity

If an item has a minimum quantity:

  • it cannot be swapped for another product, if it is a service
  • it can be swapped for another medication, if it is a medication
  • it can be swapped for other merchandise, if it is merchandise
  • it can be deleted, subject to the Override.
    This specifies the type of user that may delete items with a minimum quantity.  If unset (i.e. None), items may be deleted, but a warning will be displayed. If set, only users with the specified user type may delete the item.

When Override is set, users with the specified user type can override minimum quantities.

Show Prices Tax Inclusive - determines if fixed and unit prices in Products - Information and during product selection should be displayed inclusive or exclusive of tax.
Use Location Products - if selected, products used in charges, estimates, investigations and reminders are restricted to those available at the current location. This is useful for multi-location practices where not all products are available at each location. For:

  • medication and merchandise products, this excludes products that don't have a Stock Location relationship, ie there has never been stock of the product at the stock location for the current practice location
  • service and template products, this excludes products that are specifically set as not being available at the location. By default all templates and services are available at all locations. To set the 'not available at' locations for specific templates and services, use the Locations tab on the Product Information screen (which is only displayed if 'Use Location Products' is checked).

Follow Up At Checkout - check this box if you want to pop up a new task editor at check-out to optionally create a follow up task for the patient.
Short User Name Format - specifies the format for user and clinician names in reports. Defaults to the user's name.
Medium User Name Format - specifies the format for user and clinician names in printed Medical Records and Problems, Appointments and Tasks, and Drug Labels. Defaults to the user's title and name.
Long User Name Format - specifies the format for user and clinician names in Estimates and certificates. Defaults to the user's title, name and qualification.
Service User - the user responsible for background services. Required by the HL7 services to update outbound messages.
Mail Server - the default email server. This is used:

  • by the email-to-SMS gateway
  • when no Mail Server is specified on a Practice Location

SMS - the SMS gateway.
Appointment SMS - the default appointment reminder SMS template to use if no template is specified for a Practice Location. See also Template|Appointment Reminder SMS Template.
Reminder Configuration  - determines how patient reminders are processed. See Reminder Configuration.

 

The Contacts tab is used to view and maintain the various contacts. The types are as follows:
 

Location - you should set this so that it can appear on reports and documents
Phone - again you should set this so that it can appear on reports and documents
Email - you need to set this, not only so that it can appear on reports and documents, but also because it is used by the system when generating the From address on emails being sent out. In particular, the code that sends out Reminders and Statements via email will the Practice's email addresses for customers who do not have a Practice Location set. If you set one with the purpose 'Billing' it will be used for the Statements. If you set one with the purpose 'Reminder' it will be used for Reminders. Note however that emails initated by users are sent out using the current location's email address(es).

See Concepts|Contacts for details.

 

Below is the Locations tab. You can use this to set the Practice Locations, but it's more normal to attach the locations to the practice when setting up the locations.

Below is the Taxes tab. Use this to set the applicable taxes.

Below is the Templates tab. You should set the 'default' template here for each type of template for which you have multiple templates of that type. For example if you are using different Invoice templates for some Practice Locations, then you should set the default invoice template here.

Below is the Subscription tab with no current subscription. First you need to click the link to purchase the subscription. You will be sent a key file.  Upload this by clicking the Upload button.

Below is the Subscription tab showing the current subscription (with the details intentionally blurred).

Syndicate content