The screen below (actually the screen displayed immediately after you log in) shows the standard layout used by OpenVPMS. Note that because of the customisation that is possible, your screen may look different - see below for an example.

The various areas are as follows:

(1) The top menu allows you select the 'workspace' that you require, ie Customers, Patients, etc. You select by clicking the required item, or by keying Alt-x where x is the underlined letter (eg C for Customers, T for Patients).  Note that this Alt-x shortcut is also available with the various buttons, Alt-L for the Select button, Alt-N for the New button.

(2) The left menu (which is different for each workspace) lets you select the sub-component. There are no Alt-x shortcuts here, you click on the required item.

(3) The blue title (in this case 'Patient- Information') shows the workspace/component that you have selected.

(4) The lower left part of the screen is used to display summary information. In this case, it displays the summaries of the selected customer and patient. In this example, the customer's account information is displayed. It is possible to suppress this information via the user Preferences.

(5) This is the main working area of the screen. 

(6) The upper right of the screen contains the following:

       

These items are as follows:
(1) Location: this shows the current Practice Location.  Depending on what your administrator has set up, you may or may not be able to select another location.

(2) User: this shows the User Id that you have logged on with.

(3) Button to change user Preferences.

(4) Clicking the envelope icon will take you to the messages screen. The envelope will have a small red indicator in its top right corner if you have unread messages. (This is showing in the above.)

(5) Clicking the new screen icon will open another window. This is useful if you want to keep the current screen as is, but lookup or do something else. When you are finished with the other window you just close it or leave it open and switch back to the other one. When you log off, you will be warned if you have other windows open.  If you are getting synchronisation errors, see here.

(6) Clicking 'My Recent' (or using the Alt-Y shortcut) opens a window displaying the customer/patient pairs that you have been working with so that you can quickly re-select them. A maximum of 25 will be stored and remembered across sessions. These are stored for each user, so that if user 'Nurse' is logged in on three workstations, all three share a common 'My Recent' list.

(7) Clicking Logout will log you out.

Customised display example

The following display has been customised to adjust its background colour, the menu font size, adding a location branding, right adjusting the labels, and changing the 'unread mail' icon.

Syndicate content